Farley’s video

This is my friend Farley Gwazda‘s video for the song “Pleasure” by Blondes.  Apparently he made it entirely out of animated gifs about SCIENCE.  You can read all about it in the link to his name.

Farley was my roommate at Bard College and he has always been a great inspiration to me.  When I was struggling to decide what to do with my life, freshman year, it was Farley who said, “Yes, you should do fashion, it’s what you love.”  It was also Farley who encouraged me to go to Japan, where he also lived for a time.  And through my life he’s often popped up with just the right advice.

But even more than these specific things, he was one of the people who really showed me how hard-working and dedicated an artist can be.  He puts enormous amounts of effort and thought and enthusiasm into everything he does–even failures, like his ill-fated attempt to make a sort of player-piano out of an old Casio synthesizer.  It was going to use paper rolls and everything, but it never quite worked out.  I love his work–I have several of his drawings on my wall right now–and it’s been very interesting to follow it as it’s evolved over the years.

Anyway.  When you say this video is all animated gifs, it sounds like a gimmick, but the result is quite nice and hypnotic.

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspirations

Leave a Reply

