30 days/365 days

I think I’ll do this “30 Days of Creativity” challenge that’s been going around.  There’s nothing like a deadline to get things done, and that would be 30 of them.  Sounds like fun to me.

Once upon a time, in September, 1998, I proposed a challenge to my friend Tim: we would write a haiku a day, and send it to each other by mail, real mail, for a year.  It could be an attempt to capture the essence of the Japanese form or just a pop-culture, 5-7-5 syllables of silly poetry, didn’t matter.  In practice, the haiku part was really just an excuse to make art and send mail, and a minimum of what could be done.  The majority of the things we sent were pictures, collages, silly found materials; I got one haiku painted on a sock, and in another case rather than an envelope my haiku was sent in a puppet.  (The envelopes were also almost always elaborately decorated.)  But if we were too tired or busy or whatever we could always just write a dashed-off haiku on a scrap of paper and send it off and consider our obligations met.

It was a great experience.  For one thing, getting mail every day is an amazing feeling, especially when you’re in college.  I would stop by the campus post office on my way to lunch, send my letter, pick up my mail, and display it ostentatiously in the cafeteria for everyone to ooh and ahh over.  Good times.  For another thing, as Tim and I have noticed since, it was a kind of mindfulness exercise, every single day.  In the middle of freaking out about this or that, writing papers and working on schoolwork, we had to sit down for at least a minute or two and write something, about someting that had happened that day or how we were feeling or what we were thinking about.  That year seems in my memory to have been outrageously eventful, but that’s probably because every event and emotion was documented in art.

30 days, in comparison, should be no sweat, although I want to be more ambitious this time.  The plan is to make a bunch of clothes and costume designs, with possibly some other things as well, maybe record a song or two, make some fine art or illustration drawings.  I’ll document it all on this blog, although it’s not a 30 Days of Blogging challenge, so I’ll blog it when I get the chance, not every day, probably.

If you’re doing this challenge, let me know!  I’d love to see what everybody’s working on.  (I’m not on Twitter, so it’s going to be a little tricky for me to follow along, I think.)  Things get started on June 1st!  I can hardly wait.

2 Comments

Filed under 30 days of creativity

2 responses to “30 days/365 days

  1. Pingback: 30 Days Update/Reconsideration | John deBoer Custom

  2. Pingback: A letter a day keeps Alzheimer’s at bay | John deBoer Custom

Leave a Reply

