Getting ready, getting inspired

Tomorrow begins the 30 Days of Creativity!  I’m pretty psyched.  In fact, I really have to keep my ambitions in check, because I find myself assuming I’m going to do every project that has ever occurred to me, no matter how big.  Which is great, but I don’t want to get demoralized by overly high expectations.

I do really want to make a hat for myself, and maybe some pants; to sew a few things I meant to have done by Christmas; to draw some costume designs for a play I like, just as portfolio pieces; to make a birthday present for my sister-in-law; and to do a watercolor or two outside en plein air.  I think these, and other little projects in-between, will be plenty.  But the temptation remains.  I just took out a book called The Modernist Textile by Virginia Gardner Troy, which is full of amazing stuff and very inspiring: I want to learn to weave, get better at embroidery, and so on.  I’m sort of tempted to learn how to spin fiber into yarn, even.  There’s something very satisfying when you go deeper into the roots of an art form.  At least once in my life, I’d really like to spin the yarn and weave the cloth that I then cut and sew into something.

Circumstances have come up to make things a bit inconvenient for starting tomorrow, but that’s probably actually good.  I personally find that the busier I am, the more I can manage to take on.  When nothing is going on at all is when it’s hardest to start doing anything.  But throw a bunch of obstacles in the way, and it becomes just one more thing to add to the pile.  Busy-ness + deadline = John gets things done.

Tomorrow, then!  Let’s get started!

Leave a comment

Filed under 30 days of creativity, Inspirations

Leave a Reply

