30 Days: Day 23

Here’s one I can show everyone, for sure!  I made an 8tracks mix for my creative endeavor.  It’s a mix of spooky, more-or-less ambient music for your next dark and stormy night.  I got the idea when I was looking through my CDs (I’m old) and found this old album by Antediluvian Rocking Horse, a CD which I bought for $2.99 at Rhino Records back in college because I liked their name.  I could only remember one track, a creepy collage of English women’s voices talking about dreams of drowning, and I built the mix around that track.  (Alas, the rest of the album is not really my taste–they construct all their music out of samples and it’s mostly “quirky” “humorous” “dance” music.  Oh well.)  My one disappointment is that I couldn’t include the piece I wanted to by my friend the amazing composer Nicci Reisnour.  That piece, a setting of Wallace Stevens’s 13 Ways of Looking at a Blackbird for voice and wineglasses, was too big a file.  So I put in a different one, of microtonal violin.  Still very good.

Unfortunately, I can’t seem to get 8tracks mixes to embed in this blog, which is a real drag.  If anyone out there has any technical tips on this, let me know.

Leave a comment

Filed under 30 days of creativity

Leave a Reply

